Seeing someone’s value

So a few days ago I did a lady’s hair who was telling me about her sister who recently moved to town.

The lady I was working on is a good Christian woman. Very involved in her church as a leader of classes and she also plays a musical instrument for worship.

She’s an older lady, I think somewhere near 80 years of age.

As she was telling me about her sister, it morphed into a complaining about her younger sister.

First, it was about her appearance and how she could use my help with her hair, because (I can’t remember the exact phrase she used) she looked like a street person.

Then, it moved onto how her sister started attending church and bible study with the older sister, but that she drinks and smokes, and is probably now gambling.

How she probably has C.O.P.D. due to the cigarette smoking.

And it went on like this for a few minutes.

I told her that Papa really loves her sister a lot. She responded with, “Who?” And I said “Papa God.”

Then the lady said something about how she herself was sounding in all this complaining about her younger sister.

I gestured with my hand and made a big circle and said to her that we were going to turn this conversation around.

I asked if she thought her younger sister was happy. She didn’t see how her sister could be happy in her lifestyle.

Then I asked, “What did your sister do before she moved here?”

And that’s when the complaining got turned into recognition and thanksgiving.

She told me that this younger sister had literally given up her life to care for their elderly mother and their other sister who had cerebral palsy.

This woman, who before had been seen as a pitiful, homeless looking, cigarette smoking drinker, who never attended church or had the proper religious teaching that the older sister had, was now being seen as valuable to the older sister.

The point of sharing this little story is to show that it isn’t about a religious background, or how many seminars, sermons or functions one attends that makes their value seen or known. It’s Love!

This younger sister has always been known by Love and displayed that Love in a life dedicated to serving others. It just didn’t look like the same service as the older sister.

I also told the older sister to bring her younger sister to see me.
I plan on making her hair look as amazing as possible, because I’m gifted in that area.
But I also told the older sister that I believe her younger sister and I are going to be friends.

Leave a comment